Wiki Posts
Search

Starter Box motor question?

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2006, 01:09 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Starter Box motor question?

I am currently using a ofna black starter box (one with two 540 motors) for 1/10 scale to start my new 8ight. I have to use a heat gun to get the starter to be able to turn over the motor. I have checked the 12v gel cell battery and it makes good power. I am now to assume that the motors are going bad as it has worked in the past to start my .21 engines.
My question is:
Has anyone had any experience using stock motors from electric racing and using them in their starter box as a motor replacement?
I want to use to monster stock trinity motors I have left over from electric racing.
Old 10-06-2006, 02:12 PM
Tech Adept

I've never used stock motors before.

You should be able to get replacement motors from your LHS.
Old 10-06-2006, 10:00 PM
Tech Addict

Originally Posted by sksaha33
I am currently using a ofna black starter box (one with two 540 motors) for 1/10 scale to start my new 8ight. I have to use a heat gun to get the starter to be able to turn over the motor. I have checked the 12v gel cell battery and it makes good power. I am now to assume that the motors are going bad as it has worked in the past to start my .21 engines.
My question is:
Has anyone had any experience using stock motors from electric racing and using them in their starter box as a motor replacement?
I want to use to monster stock trinity motors I have left over from electric racing.

if your having to use a heat gun on the car's engine, then the problem is not with your starter box. the problem is that you probably have a new (and tight) motor and the piston is tight in the sleave. that's the reason you didn't have any problems with your old .21's......they probably had been run in and weren't as tight as some new motors can be.