R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 01-08-2003, 07:35 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
Default Nitro MT racer

Im joe from australia and i have ALWAYS loved remote controled cars and boats..

I am a total newb! but i have done my research and i originaly wanted the HPI Nitro MT.. But after a bit more research i think the racer is more on the lines of what im looking for!
The problem is this kit doesnt have an engine and ect..

so thats why i am here! to ask you folks what engine and other parts you think i should purchase for this car!

I really dont wanna spend TO much but i want alot of power/speed.

The use of this car will be mainly offroad but all round use.
Please help me if you can! thanks heaps
proficient is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2003, 11:06 AM   #2
Tech Rookie
Send a message via ICQ to KaBlookie Send a message via AIM to KaBlookie

aiight if you're going to go with the Racer, you're gonna be spending slightly more money in the short term and less money in the long term. with the kit or RTR, it would be the opposite. but since you've decided on the Racer, here's what I would recommend:

you should take a good look at the O.S. engines, the .15 ones in particular, b/c the extra torque over the .12s really helps when off-roading. now i'm assuming you want a pull-starter with your engine so look at the .15 CV-RX , i've heard nothing but good stuff about them. one of these should set you back $150-180 USD (sorry, i can't really say in your currency). there are more crazy engines like Picco, Novarossi, RB Concepts etc, but those are noticeably more expensive. you're also gonna want a better flywheel than the one that comes with the kit (it's not bad, but it would be good to get another one) like this one. a good (and slightly cheaper)alternative to this engine would be HPI's .15SS , which is not as powerful, but is still a pretty good buy.