Community
Wiki Posts
Search

MBX-5 Or Kyosho Inferno SP2

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2006, 11:15 AM
Tech Rookie

Default MBX-5 Or Kyosho Inferno SP2

What is the best chassis kit. I have never done any 8th scale offroad racing before, only 10th scale electric 4WD buggy. What is the best Motor i can legally put in it. I was thinking O.S. 21. VZ. Price is no issue at this point but I need everything. Except a radio. Thanks for your help.
Old 04-20-2006, 11:53 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I recommend the Mugen MBX 5 Prospec, but that's because I have one.
Honestly, though, I recently went through the same issues. I had run 1/8th scale before, but not on this level. I chose the MBX5 because it has remained relatively unchanged for two years and comes equipped with everything you need as far as upgrades. The Kyosho sp.2 is the third virsion of that car in like 9 months. I don't want to buy something that is outdated in so short a time.
The mugen is dialed and probably hands-down the fastest car out. Sure, pro's win with the other cars, but the guys who pay for their stuff buy the Mugen.

Engine wise I recommend looking at Novarossi's selection of engines. They are all good, and if you get the one that matches your track layout, you'll rip up the competition. O.S.'s are good, like the V-spec, but it has some longevity problems in the crank bearings. Make sure you get a buggy engine, though. Although road engines boast a higher horsepower rating, it is at an RPM range that a buggy can't utilize effectively. check out www.caralinasrc.com for specs on their engines and recommended track usage.
Old 04-20-2006, 03:22 PM
Tech Rookie

I had a Jammin and did very well with it. (I had a few shock seal problems though) but the new shocks are better.
I now have the Kyosho 777sp2. They are both
QUALITY kits. The Kyosho did win the Shoot out
against 5 great cars in the Extreme RC car mag.
including the Jammin. edit*and the Mugen quote "On this day it is