Wiki Posts
Search

Brushless questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2006, 04:56 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Brushless questions

Hi peoples, was wondering what might be a good brushless system for my xxx-4

I have another xxx-4 with a GTB 5.5 in it but wanted to go with something different perhaps. I've contemplated a LRP Sphere and Neo, but I've heard of reliability issues and that LRP's customer service sucks.

Any ideas? If I have to, I'll just buy another Novak, but I thought I might mix it up a bit.

Also was wondering what might be a good brushed system that will last a long time. I'm a noob with this stuff and I don't cut comms, and I have no idea about 12x1, 19 turn, and all the rest of the jargon. If I was to get a brushed system, suggest one that will have a long run time before brush replacement and comm cutting as well as a reasonably priced reliable ESC.

Thanks,

JR
Old 02-13-2006, 05:12 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Brushless Options

You could try the Hacker Brushless system. If your not in a hurry then I would try and wait for the Mamba system. Suppose to be AWESOME!

For brushed you can just use your GTB speedo that came with your brushless (Yes the GTB can do brushed and brushless) and I would probably try Orion/Peak motors Revolution V2. Usually can get about 20 or so runs out of one before it needs to be rebuilt. I would probably try either a 9, 10 or 11 single. Should be plenty of power.

Later,
Old 02-13-2006, 07:40 PM
Tech Adept

As far as brushless systems go stick with Novak! I've personally only used the 5800 system but have many racers at my local track running the GTB systems without any problems.
Novak's customer service is great while LRP's plain sucks(IMO).

If your going to go with a brushed motor I say go with the Novak GTX and either the V2 style motors or the Checkpoint's. Long run times between cuts and plenty of power with both.
Old 02-13-2006, 09:22 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)