Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Off Road Carpet Set Up

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2018, 02:49 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Off Road Carpet Set Up

Newbie here, looking for some help on carpet set up. My boys and I run at an indoor carpet off road track. We're new to rc and to racing but we've been at it for a few months and I think we need to start trying to fine tune our cars to get better/faster. We have a B6 club racer and an SC5m that I built to the factory manual recommended specs. Especially with the sc5m, it seems to lean pretty hard in the corners (enough that the body rubs the front tires) so I'm thinking I need to work on shocks/suspension. But then on the straights I get outran so I'm thinking motor timing or gearing. It probably needs something in all areas! Both vehicles are running 17.5 motors, the b6 in rookie class, the sc5m in stock 17.5 blinky. I've looked through the sc5m and b6 threads and most discussion seems to be about tires, I'm looking for chassis help, whether it's specific to these cars or just off road carpet racing chassis set up theory ( what to look for, watch for, how the car should enter/exit etc). Any help/suggestions are greatly appreciated!
Old 01-10-2018, 04:17 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)

Carpet and astro setups require much stiffer springs for starters. Associated makes 3 sets of springs, you need to step into the hardest set. This will allow lower ride height without the car rolling so much that the bodies rub. I run 17mm ride height on my 2wd buggy, and not much higher on my 2wd SCT. With stiffer springs you'll also need thicker oil.

You also want to look into sway bars, those will help with body roll as well.
Old 01-10-2018, 04:49 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

At the carpet track I go to the kit setup is pretty much spot on.
Old 01-10-2018, 06:11 AM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Originally Posted by anthonyscardina