Wiki Posts
Search

how to "waterproof" a truck

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-13-2011, 07:52 PM
Tech Rookie

Default how to "waterproof" a truck

ok guys completely new to the new age of rc trucks. Interested in many aspects but would love a rockcrawling/trail driving rig. i live on the lake so there are some watery spots that i also think would be fun. Anyway to create something so the water doesnt damage the machine. thanks so much. This will be the first of many many questions. also what are some reccomendations for what im wanting. It will be very mild at first but if i really get into it i will be upgrading
Old 06-13-2011, 09:37 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

liquid tape or equivalent.. i work in the industry and got some electric motor insulation spray (CRC make it)

pull your esc, reciever and servo motor apart

liberally apply liquid tape (electronics only.. no moving parts)

put stuff back together

visit rccrawler.com has heaps of different opinions on this subject
Old 06-16-2011, 09:30 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)

There are alot of ways..Ballooning etc.
I used this on one of my trail rigs for the receiver.Worked pretty well to.

Old 07-16-2011, 02:56 PM
Tech Rookie

Default tried the liquid black tape trick!!

Unfortunately that trick didn't work for my rig, cause it worked fine before and now I have no electronics!! Thanks for the tip, now I have to buy all new electronics!!
Old 07-17-2011, 03:02 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

I disassembled my servo and applied marine electronics grease to the board and around the splined shaft. Re-assembled the servo and then applied a few coates of aerosol plasti-grip. Never had an issue.

As for the ESC and Rx, I just double balloon them.

Motor, I just make sure to keep the bearings/bushings well lubricated.

Finally the battery, I haven't done a thing except to blow them out w/ my air compressor to dry them out after use.
Old 07-18-2011, 04:13 PM
Tech Adept