R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Chat Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2012, 05:15 AM   #16
Tech Master
 
Longhair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8ightRider View Post
Sloracer LOLOLOL...


Longhair likes to read maybe one sentence before bashing anybody so he never quite gets what anybody is saying just wants to bash on people.

Reading anything you try to type out is harder than reading a doctor's hand writing.
Longhair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:12 AM   #17
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 372
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Longhair View Post
Reading anything you try to type out is harder than reading a doctor's hand writing.

My point just proven. You bring nothing of merit to any conversation other than to bash peoples opinions or grammar
__________________
Losi 8-E, Tekin RX8 1900kv
LST2-E converted 2000kv setup Awesome fun
HPI Baja 5T, 8S castle xl2 setup with Disc brakes
Afghanistan Racing!
8ightRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:07 AM   #18
Tech Master
 
Longhair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,701
Default

How exactly am I bashing you? I am pointing out the fact that your posts are not legible to anybody with an IQ over room tempature.

Instead of wasting time pecking out non-coherent thoughts upon the uncaring, use the energy to educate yourself with the skills that a 3rd grader possesses.
Longhair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 01:50 PM   #19
Tech Adept
 
RCTWENTY8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Marietta GA
Posts: 222
Default

Whatever you do, DO NOT BUY a Anti-virus program.
Download your free..FREE , no chrg : AV program " AVG. "
Down load it off the net! Then...in 1 year it will prompt you to buy an
upgraded version of it. Unistall AVG ...go back
and get it FREE off the net. Again for another year it is FREE.

AVG is a FREE anti virus program...it updates itself...
or you schedule it to update! Ok now you know what to do
...my 3 cents.
RCTWENTY8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 01:50 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,166
Default

Yes, I am the one debating laptop vs building. In fact I mentioned that in the first 3 sentences of this thread.

It is an APU from amd so it is a quad core cpu combined with some level of radeon graphics.

I am not a HUGE gamer yet, but I am starting to get into more games. But I am limited to my current computer. As far as I am concerned the apu will do what I am going to ask of it. Plus with that mobo and apu, I can add in a somewhat low end gpu and it will work kind of like crossfire with the graphics on the apu. As demonstrated in this video.

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


Yes, dual 19in monitors each at 1360 by 768 (highest resolution they go) but I may upgrade to a single bigger monitor later. I dont know if the mobo supports dual monitors or not. One of the monitors is vga only and the other is vga or hdmi (actually it is a curtis led tv).

Programs
Not much, google sketch up, chrome for the internet browser, and other basic stuff. I cant think of anything demanding other than games off the top of my head, but I just had to re install windows and I dont have a list of all the programs I had installed.

Now with this set up, I dont plan to be playing the NEWEST games, but not terribly old ones either. Obviously it is capable of playing the games without an error at 1280 by 720 (other than mafia 2). But I would add in a secondary gpu to get better performance when I choose to get newer games. I do have a geforce 210 in my current computer that I could throw in. But it is probably worse than the apu graphics.

If you guys dont like the corsair psu I linked in the 3rd post (I think) then can you suggest one for me?

I know the liquid cooling is way overkill but I want it.

I know the apu in the video is a different one and I am going to go compare the benchmarks after I make this post.

Did I miss anything that you guys posted other than where it got off topic?
nerdyrcdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 02:18 PM   #21
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,166
Default

Ok, so I came up with another system that would probably kick this ones ass around the same price.

Ok, pc number 2

amd 6 core processor with 14mb cash (total l3 and L2) 3.30ghz (3.90 max turbo)
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...961&CatId=7341

asus mobo
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...809&CatId=7245

same ram Patriot g2 series 8gb
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...145&CatId=4534

msi 6770 twin frozr 2 OC
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...875&CatId=7005

lg dvd burner
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...640&CatId=1624

cooler master haf 912 case
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...504&CatId=1509

Totals $445 plus tax and I still need to choose a good psu.

Possibly this nzxt case instead of the haf 912.
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...597&CatId=1509

Would still cost the same.

I like this system much more, but what power supply?

Oh, and there is no liquid cooling, just air for now. Unless someone can recommend a better air cooler that doesnt break the bank at the same price as liquid cooling.

So the question is, what psu and possibly, what upgraded air cooler around say $35 or less. (just the air, not the psu)
nerdyrcdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 02:20 PM   #22
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCTWENTY8 View Post
Whatever you do, DO NOT BUY a Anti-virus program.
Download your free..FREE , no chrg : AV program " AVG. "
Down load it off the net! Then...in 1 year it will prompt you to buy an
upgraded version of it. Unistall AVG ...go back
and get it FREE off the net. Again for another year it is FREE.

AVG is a FREE anti virus program...it updates itself...
or you schedule it to update! Ok now you know what to do
...my 3 cents.
Lol, isnt it normally 2 cents? Anyway, I normally use avast because avg caused my previous computers (all low end laptops) to be insanely slow. But with that 6 core above, I think avg wouldnt be a problem.
nerdyrcdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 02:40 PM   #23
Tech Master
 
Longhair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,701
Default

Running multiple monitors at the same time will depend on the video card, not the motherboard.

I have a video card that has 3 outputs (2 DVI and 1 Display Port) however, I am only able to use 2 of them at the same time. If I go to the display settings, I am able to switch the monitors that have a display on them and even the order of the displays - Windows basic feature, not an add-on.
Longhair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 03:14 PM   #24
Tech Champion
 
oXYnary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,301
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to oXYnary Send a message via Yahoo to oXYnary
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Longhair View Post
Running multiple monitors at the same time will depend on the video card, not the motherboard.

I have a video card that has 3 outputs (2 DVI and 1 Display Port) however, I am only able to use 2 of them at the same time. If I go to the display settings, I am able to switch the monitors that have a display on them and even the order of the displays - Windows basic feature, not an add-on.
Actually it will also depend on the motherboard IF they are planning on daisy chaining cards for more performance or for separate video outputs. You need more pci-e 3.0 16x slots. As well as seeing if the bandwidth is reduced if you use more than one 16x port. (Some will split so you only get 8x from each, or uneven like 8-4-4 with 3)
__________________
www.3drcracing.com <<RC Video Game.
Kyosho Mini-Z Buggy, Moto Racer | Losi Micro SCT, 8ight Mini
oXYnary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 03:24 PM   #25
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,166
Default

When I was talking about the mobo and video, that was when I was planning on getting an APU and just using the graphics with the apu and mobo. I have now decided to go with an amd 6 core cpu and a radeon 6770 gpu. Check 4 post up I believe.
Yep post number 21 in this thread.


It doesnt take much to run both of my monitors. My geforce 210 does just fine. Obviously not gaming with both monitors though. Well, that is a lie, I normally have the game up on the front one and ventrilo (voice chat thing) open on the other one so I can see who all I am talking to.


I think I want the nzxt case, but I also need to go back and see what components I listed are actually in stock at my local comp usa.
nerdyrcdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 03:28 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
GundamWZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ft. Bliss, Texas
Posts: 4,718
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to GundamWZero Send a message via Yahoo to GundamWZero Send a message via Skype™ to GundamWZero
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdyrcdriver View Post
Ok, so I came up with another system that would probably kick this ones ass around the same price.

Ok, pc number 2

amd 6 core processor with 14mb cash (total l3 and L2) 3.30ghz (3.90 max turbo)
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...961&CatId=7341

asus mobo
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...809&CatId=7245

same ram Patriot g2 series 8gb
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...145&CatId=4534

msi 6770 twin frozr 2 OC
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...875&CatId=7005

lg dvd burner
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...640&CatId=1624

cooler master haf 912 case
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...504&CatId=1509

Totals $445 plus tax and I still need to choose a good psu.

Possibly this nzxt case instead of the haf 912.
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...597&CatId=1509

Would still cost the same.

I like this system much more, but what power supply?

Oh, and there is no liquid cooling, just air for now. Unless someone can recommend a better air cooler that doesnt break the bank at the same price as liquid cooling.

So the question is, what psu and possibly, what upgraded air cooler around say $35 or less. (just the air, not the psu)
An AMD processor alone equals a big, fat fail in my opinion. And you still forgot the videocard.....

No matter what, the computer you are trying to build will be no better than a netbook - something to surf the web and play Facebook. If you want a fairly decent computer, you gotta break the $500.00 threshold.... and that is bare minimum.

EDIT: I see you have a video card.... AMD and ATI? Whatever floats you boat.... this would be something that I'll build my wife....

No it wont.... she uses Photoshop CS5. That program alone will crush that setup.....
__________________
"People tend to get upset because they don't get what they ask for... then complain when they get what they deserve." - R.E.Jacobs

‎"We fight not because we hate what's in front of us...
We fight to protect whats behind us."
GundamWZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 03:37 PM   #27
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,166
Default

ok, looking at a few benchmarks how does the msi twin frozr II 6770 compare to this xfx 6850?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...436&CatId=7005
nerdyrcdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 03:40 PM   #28
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GundamWZero View Post
An AMD processor alone equals a big, fat fail in my opinion. And you still forgot the videocard.....

No matter what, the computer you are trying to build will be no better than a netbook - something to surf the web and play Facebook. If you want a fairly decent computer, you gotta break the $500.00 threshold.... and that is bare minimum.

EDIT: I see you have a video card.... AMD and ATI? Whatever floats you boat.... this would be something that I'll build my wife....

No it wont.... she uses Photoshop CS5. That program alone will crush that setup.....
AMD vs Intel...

Your opinion obviously. Intel is a superior chip, but for a processor of this spec it would cost me easily double this. My friend built a system for $1300 including a $220 i7 and he is only clocked at 2.8ghz and it is a quad core. The cpu I am looking at is 3.30ghz (3.90 max turbo) and it is a six core.

Whatever, I am not switching to intel. I have this thing called a budget here.

Not trying to sound mad or anything, I totally appreciate your input.

Edit: I never "forgot" a video card in the first place. The first plan was an apu which has a built in graphics core that smokes intel integrated 3000 graphics.

But forget that plan, and move onto the second one.

Amd and ati? Doesnt amd own or have something to do with the radeon graphics cards? I dont have a prefrence to radeon or geforce or whatever you want to call them.

Could someone help me choose a graphics card at or under $150 at tigerdirect that is decent? I dont care if it is nvidia or ati.

Someone on youtube suggested the 550ti. I dont know where to look for a comparison between all of these graphics cards. That is kind of the whole point of this thread.

Need to choose
Graphics card
power supply
possibly an aftermarket heatsink and fan for the cpu (maybe)
nerdyrcdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 04:12 PM   #29
Tech Elite
 
GundamWZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ft. Bliss, Texas
Posts: 4,718
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to GundamWZero Send a message via Yahoo to GundamWZero Send a message via Skype™ to GundamWZero
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdyrcdriver View Post
AMD vs Intel...

Your opinion obviously. Intel is a superior chip, but for a processor of this spec it would cost me easily double this. My friend built a system for $1300 including a $220 i7 and he is only clocked at 2.8ghz and it is a quad core. The cpu I am looking at is 3.30ghz (3.90 max turbo) and it is a six core.

Whatever, I am not switching to intel. I have this thing called a budget here.

Not trying to sound mad or anything, I totally appreciate your input.

Edit: I never "forgot" a video card in the first place. The first plan was an apu which has a built in graphics core that smokes intel integrated 3000 graphics.

But forget that plan, and move onto the second one.

Amd and ati? Doesnt amd own or have something to do with the radeon graphics cards? I dont have a prefrence to radeon or geforce or whatever you want to call them.

Could someone help me choose a graphics card at or under $150 at tigerdirect that is decent? I dont care if it is nvidia or ati.

Someone on youtube suggested the 550ti. I dont know where to look for a comparison between all of these graphics cards. That is kind of the whole point of this thread.

Need to choose
Graphics card
power supply
possibly an aftermarket heatsink and fan for the cpu (maybe)
Fair enough:

http://www.compusa.com/applications/...126&CatId=3669


http://www.compusa.com/applications/...038&CatId=2533

CompUSA and Tigerdirect are the same company.

EDIT:

Better yet.... here you go - http://www.compusa.com/applications/...3960&CatId=332

419.99
__________________
"People tend to get upset because they don't get what they ask for... then complain when they get what they deserve." - R.E.Jacobs

‎"We fight not because we hate what's in front of us...
We fight to protect whats behind us."
GundamWZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 04:27 PM   #30
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GundamWZero View Post
Yeah, i just have tiger direct bookmarked. Kind of funny, the store has always been comp usa around here for a while, but the sign by the road still says tiger direct.

Thanks for the link to the graphics card.

I looked at that exact barebones and liked it with the ssd and all. But where is the graphics card? I dont mind waiting a little longer if my game will look better since the money for the gpu seems to be going to the ssd.

Granted, by the time this build is done I will probably be around that barebones price and a graphics card of some sort.

Edit: this seems to be the case of choice. It is the only one at my local compusa that is in my budget for the case and looks cool. The all black interior is a big plus. And it is a cooler master case so it should be a nice case to build in. I can always get another blue led fan or two and some other led light strips. Cold cathodes would be cool, but led strips are easier to install (well, not by much) and they dont need a big inverter thing that is kind of hard to hide sometimes.

http://www.compusa.com/applications/...030&CatId=1509

Last edited by nerdyrcdriver; 02-13-2012 at 05:11 PM.
nerdyrcdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I will make an Auto Tyre truer Collins Australian Racing 353 12-09-2011 09:54 PM
Exhaust Gas Coolers? Good or Bad JoeC Nitro Off-Road 84 07-26-2010 01:14 PM
Brushless ESC's and Motors - a total joke cannon Australian Racing 178 06-30-2006 05:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net