Wiki Posts
Search

Some People...............

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2005, 06:21 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Thumbs down Some People...............

I’ve Been racing RC cars since 1985……. Back When RC racing was a hobby, and as such, people with the same interest helped each other out, and shared a common “Bond”.

I Had to take a break some years ago when I screwed up my back. 3 Surgeries, $8200 worth of titanium holding my back together, and almost 4 years later I began looking to FINALLY put together enough stuff to go race, and get my grandson involved in what I and My son so enjoyed. ……..RC CAR RACING……..

Found some FAIR deals on several of the RC swap boards, and found some, that although items were sent and “functional” I had been better off without.

Than I got involved in THIS DEAL...

I was looking to get my grandson a speed control for the B3 I picked up. Nothing Fancy, just something that worked.

Found an ad here on RC tech for an LRP super sport for $40. After several emails with the seller, I was told the speed control was 100% FUNCTIONAL and that if I paypal’d $33.85 to the seller he would send me the ESC. I paypal’d the person $34.00.

An LRP Super sport ESC arrived today via USPS. As the mailperson handed me the package, they commented about the smell coming from it. I opened it up to find the bottom of the case of the esc half off. And NO SWITCH, the switch wires were soldered together as can be seen in Picture 1 and 2

Took off the bottom with ease to find the bottom of the esc circuit board gooped up with what appears to be hot glue.. Picture 2

NOT TOO GOOD SO FAR

Pop off the heat sinks and pull the top of the case off to find a MESS. The top of the case INSIDE has a distinct burn in it above the BURNT components.

These Pictures show what I found inside the “100% FUNCTIONAL” Speed control I was sold.